Toronto, ON – The Ontario Hockey League today announced the finalists for seven of the league’s major awards for the 2013-14 regular season. 


Six of the seven awards are voted on by OHL Member Teams including Rookie of the Year, Overage Player of the Year, Most Sportsmanlike Player of the Year, Coach of the Year, Goaltender of the Year, and Defenceman of the Year.  Teams were asked to submit one nominee from their club for consideration on the ballot and were not permitted to vote for the player from their own hockey club.  The first stage of voting was by conference only with the top three players from each conference making the final ballot to be voted on by all 20 OHL General Managers.


All finalists for the Red Tilson Trophy were nominated by the Member Teams of the Ontario Hockey League as their most outstanding player for the 2013-14 regular season.  The Red Tilson Trophy, awarded to the league’s Most Outstanding Player of the Year, is voted on by the sports writers and broadcasters in the OHL. 


Award recipients will be announced throughout the remainder of the 2014 OHL Playoffs. 

Rookie of the Year / Emms Family Award Finalists:

Lawson Crouse (Kingston Frontenacs)

Travis Dermott (Erie Otters)

Travis Konecny (Ottawa 67’s)

Andrew Mangiapane (Barrie Colts)

Mitchell Marner (London Knights)

Blake Speers (Sault Ste. Marie Greyhounds)

Overage Player of the Year / Leo Lalonde Memorial Trophy Finalists:

Cameron Brace (Belleville Bulls)

Dane Fox (Erie Otters)

Tyler Gaudet (Sault Ste. Marie Greyhounds)

Barclay Goodrow (North Bay Battalion)

Eric Ming (Niagara IceDogs)

Zack Mitchell (Guelph Storm)

Most Sportsmanlike Player of the Year / William Hanley Trophy Finalists:

Michael Dal Colle (Oshawa Generals)

Jason Dickinson (Guelph Storm)

Stephen Harper (Belleville Bulls)

Connor McDavid (Erie Otters)

Chris Tierney (London Knights)

Spencer Watson (Kingston Frontenacs)

Coach of the Year / Matt Leyden Trophy Finalists:

Bob Boughner (Windsor Spitfires)

Stan Butler (North Bay Battalion)

Todd Gill (Kingston Frontenacs)

Kris Knoblauch (Erie Otters)

DJ Smith (Oshawa Generals)

Scott Walker (Guelph Storm)

Goaltender of the Year Finalists:

Daniel Altshuller (Oshawa Generals)

Oscar Dansk (Erie Otters)

Matthew Murray (Sault Ste. Marie Greyhounds)

Alex Nedeljkovic (Plymouth Whalers)

Franky Palazzese (Sudbury Wolves)

Jake Smith (North Bay Battalion)

Defenceman of the Year / Max Kaminsky Trophy Finalists:

Trevor Carrick (Sudbury Wolves)

Aaron Ekblad (Barrie Colts)

Slater Koekkoek (Windsor Spitfires)

Roland McKeown (Kingston Frontenacs)

Adam Pelech (Erie Otters)

Nikita Zadorov (London Knights) 

Most Outstanding Player of the Year / Red Tilson Trophy Finalists:

Barrie – Aaron Ekblad

Belleville – Remi Elie

Erie – Connor Brown

Guelph – Brock McGinn

Kingston – Sam Bennett

Kitchener – Justin Bailey

London – Max Domi

Mississauga – Bryson Cianfrone

Niagara – Brendan Perlini

North Bay – Barclay Goodrow

Oshawa – Scott Laughton

Ottawa – Philippe Trudeau

Owen Sound – Chris Bigras

Peterborough – Nick Ritchie

Plymouth – Alex Nedeljkovic

Saginaw – Dylan Sadowy

Sarnia – Nikolay Goldobin

Sault Ste. Marie – Matthew Murray

Sudbury – Nick Baptiste

Windsor – Slater Koekkoek