Toronto, ON – The Canadian Hockey League today announced that 95 CHL graduates are listed on men’s hockey rosters for the 2014 Olympic Winter Games taking place in Sochi, Russia.

The 95 alumni represents nearly one third of all competing players and includes 39 from the Ontario Hockey League, 31 from the Western Hockey League, and 25 from the Quebec Major Junior Hockey League. 

All 12 competing nations have at least one CHL graduate with Canada, the defending gold medalists, represented the highest with 21 former CHL players.  Slovakia has the second highest number of CHL alumni with 18, followed by the Czech Republic with 14, Latvia with 11, Switzerland with six, Austria, Slovenia, and the United States each have five CHL graduates, while Norway has four, Sweden has three, Russia has two, and Finland has one in Olli Maatta who is the most recent CHL graduate competing in the 2014 Olympic Winter Games and was a member of the London Knights from 2011-13.  44 of the 95 CHL alumni competing in Sochi also represented their country at the 2010 Olympic Winter Games in Vancouver which included a total of 73 CHL players.

10 CHL alumni competing in the Olympics are also MasterCard Memorial Cup champions including Canada’s Shea Weber (Kelowna Rockets 2004), Corey Perry (London Knights 2005), and Marc-Edouard Vlasic (Quebec Remparts 2006).  Other Memorial Cup winners include Slovakia’s Marian Hossa (Portland Winter Hawks 1998), Rene Vydareny (Rimouski Oceanic 2000), and Tomas Jurco (Saint John Sea Dogs 2011).  The list also includes the Czech Republic’s Martin Erat (Red Deer Rebels 2001), Russia’s Alexander Radulov (Quebec Remparts 2006), Austria’s Stefan Ulmer (Spokane Chiefs 2008), and Cam Fowler of the United States (Windsor Spitfires 2010). 

The men’s Olympic hockey tournament begins Wednesday, Feb. 12, with Canada’s first game on Thursday, Feb. 13 against Norway. The tournament culminates with the gold medal game on Feb. 23. In the Olympic preliminary round, Canada also faces off against Austria on Friday, Feb. 14 and Finland on Sunday, Feb. 16. All of these games take place at the Bolshoy Ice Dome in Sochi.

For more information on Canada’s Men’s Olympic Team, please visit, or follow along through social media at, and

For additional information about the 2014 Olympic Winter Games please visit

CHL Alumni at the 2014 Olympic Winter Games:

Last CHL team and season in brackets while the * indicates 2010 Olympic Winter Games participant


Austria (5):

Michael Grabner (Spokane Chiefs 2007)

Andre Lakos (Barrie Colts 1999)

Thomas Raffl (Swift Current Broncos 2006)

Stefan Ulmer (Spokane Chiefs 2010)

Gerhard Unterluggauer (Brandon Wheat Kings 1997)


Canada (21):

Jamie Benn (Kelowna Rockets 2009)

Patrice Bergeron (Acadie-Bathurst Titan 2003)*

Jay Bouwmeester (Medicine Hat Tigers 2002)

Jeff Carter (Sault Ste. Marie Greyhounds 2005)

Sidney Crosby (Rimouski Oceanic 2005)*

Drew Doughty (Guelph Storm 2008)*

Matt Duchene (Brampton Battalion 2009)

Ryan Getzlaf (Calgary Hitmen 2005)*

Dan Hamhuis (Prince George Cougars 2002)

Duncan Keith (Kelowna Rockets 2003)*

Roberto Luongo (Acadie-Bathurst Titan 1999)*

Patrick Marleau (Seattle Thunderbirds 1997)*

Rick Nash (London Knights 2002)*

Corey Perry (London Knights 2005)*

Alex Pietrangelo (Barrie Colts 2010)

Carey Price (Tri-City Americans 2007)

Mike Smith (Sudbury Wolves 2002)

P.K Subban (Belleville Bulls 2009)

John Tavares (London Knights 2009)

Marc-Edouard Vlasic (Quebec Remparts 2006)

Shea Weber (Kelowna Rockets 2005)*


Czech Republic (14):

Martin Erat (Red Deer Rebels 2001)*

Michael Frolik (Rimouski Oceanic 2008)

Radko Gudas (Everett Silvertips 2010)

Martin Hanzal (Red Deer Rebels 2007)

Ales Hemsky (Hull Olympiques 2002)

Jakub Kovar (Windsor Spitfires 2008)

Lukas Krajicek (Peterborough Petes 2002)

David Krejci (Gatineau Olympiques 2006)*

Zbynek Michalek (Shawinigan Cataractes 2002)*

Petr Nedved (Seattle Thunderbirds 1990)

Ondrej Palat (Drummondville Voltigeurs 2011)

Ondrej Pavelec (Cape Breton Screaming Eagles 2007)*

Michal Rozsival (Swift Current Broncos 1998)

Jakub Voracek (Halifax Mooseheads 2008)


Finland (1):

Olli Maatta (London Knights 2013)


Latvia (11):

Oscars Bartulis (Cape Breton Screaming Eagles 2007)*

Armands Berzins (Shawinigan Cataractes 2003)*

Lauris Darzins (Kelowna Rockets 2006)*

Kaspars Daugavins (Mississauga St. Michael’s Majors 2009)*

Martins Karsums (Moncton Wildcats 2006)*

Arturs Kulda (Peterborough Petes 2008)

Ervins Mustukovs (Drummondville Voltigeurs 2004)*

Arvid Rekis (Erie Otters 2000)*

Janis Sprukts (Acadie-Bathurst Titan 2003)*

Juris Stals (Owen Sound Attack 2003)

Herbert Vasiljevs (Guelph Storm 1996)*


Norway (4):

Sondre Olden (Erie Otters 2012)

Mathis Olimb (Sarnia Sting 2005)*

Patrick Thoresen (Baie-Comeau Drakkar 2003)*

Ole-Kristian Tollefsen (Brandon Wheat Kings 2004)*


Russia (2):

Fedor Tyutin (Guelph Storm 2002)*

Alexander Radulov (Quebec Remparts 2006)*


Slovakia (18):

Ivan Baranka (Everett Silvertips 2005)

Milan Bartovic (Brandon Wheat Kings 2000)

Peter Budaj (Toronto St. Michael’s Majors 2002)*

Zdeno Chara (Prince George Cougars 1997)*

Jaroslav Halak (Lewiston MAINEiacs 2005)*

Marcel Hossa (Portland Winter Hawks 2001)*

Marian Hossa (Portland Winter Hawks 1998)*

Milan Jurcina (Halifax Mooseheads 2003)*

Tomas Jurco (Saint John Sea Dogs 2012)

Tomas Kopecky (Lethbridge Hurricanes 2002)*

Tomas Marcinko (Barrie Colts 2008)

Martin Marincin (Regina Pats 2012)

Andrej Meszaros (Vancouver Giants 2005)*

Richard Panik (Guelph Storm 2011)

Branko Radivojevic (Belleville Bulls 2001)*

Andrej Sekera (Owen Sound Attack 2006)*

Rene Vydareny (Rimouski Oceanic 2000)

Tomas Zaborsky (Saginaw Spirit 2008)


Slovenia (5):

Bostjan Golicic (Calgary Hitmen 2009)

Jan Mursak (Belleville Bulls 2008)

Ziga Pance (Oshawa Generals 2008)

David Rodman (Val-d’Or Foreurs 2003)

Marcel Rodman (Peterborough Petes 2001)


Sweden (3):

Alexander Edler (Kelowna Rockets 2006)

Gabriel Landeskog (Kitchener Rangers 2011)

Johnny Oduya (Victoriaville Tigres 2001)*


Switzerland (6):

Luca Cunti (Rimouski Oceanic 2009)

Ryan Gardner (North Bay Centennials 1998)

Denis Hollenstein (Guelph Storm 2009)

Nino Niederreiter (Portland Winterhawks 2011)

Yannick Weber (Kitchener Rangers 2008)*

Roman Wick (Lethbridge Hurricanes 2006)*


United States (5):

Dustin Brown (Guelph Storm 2003)*

Ryan Callahan (Guelph Storm 2006)*

John Carlson (London Knights 2009)

Cam Fowler (Windsor Spitfires 2010)

Patrick Kane (London Knights 2007)*